fendubbers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Talk to me about vans..

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
james.

james.

Male Number of posts : 719
Drives : bmw 740
Registration date : 2008-07-02

Talk to me about vans.. Empty
PostSubject: Talk to me about vans..   Talk to me about vans.. EmptyFri Feb 11 2011, 22:27

I'm going to be looking to buy a van in the near future, it has to be a high top version as it will be a mobile workshop so would be nice to have the room to stand up properly ect and ideally long wheelbase, a medium wheelbase might be ok though.

I've got a few possibilitys of mercedes sprinter, iveco daily, LDV maxus and obviously a ford transit Laughing

I used to be a mechanic and i know from past experiences that merc sprinters do have alot of problems, had one that snapped the cranshaft Shocked but i think this is mainly the newer ones. The older style sprinters seemed to be more reliable.

Ford transits seem to be pretty reliable but im not really a fan of having to press the wheel bearing out everytime front brake disks need changing, but i guess its a small compromise if the van is going to be reliable.

Never really had much to do with iveco dailys or the LDV maxus.. I don't suppose anyone has experience of owning or heard things about them?

Or if anyone has any other suggestions based on the requirements of being a high top and long wheel base... I have approx how much my vr will be worth to spend lol!
Back to top Go down
Lupton_20vt

Lupton_20vt

Male Number of posts : 6815
Registration date : 2009-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Talk to me about vans..   Talk to me about vans.. EmptyFri Feb 11 2011, 22:52

go with the transit dude, tried and tested really.
Back to top Go down
whatalotafun

whatalotafun

Male Number of posts : 1656
Drives : fiesta zetec, eunos roadster, 1970 bug, honda vt 250